Personal

Hello, uni so far.

Hey there!

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a blog post. Since moving to uni I’ve 100% been run off my feet, but I’m having some of the best moments of my life – and I’m only 4 months in. So here’s a quick little post on some of the things I’ve learnt so far.

1. Buying your own food is expensive!

Coming straight out of college and into uni meant although I worked all through college, I didn’t have any savings. I lived off what I made at the job I found in Bristol. I naively thought I’d be fine, I don’t over eat and quorn tends to be cheaper than meat, but bloody hell it all adds up!

Where I live there isn’t a lidl/Aldi close, but a tesco express is directly below which is more expensive.

Definitely plan meals out and buy as cheap as you can find. Eat healthy to compensate for all that alcohol!

food

 

2. Freshers isn’t everything.

Freshers was awesome and I met so many cool people but it isn’t the end of the world if you’re not out every night- I don’t speak to most people I met then.

There are always cool arts vs sciences socials throughout the year and plenty other excuses to go out. Uni is definitely where you can make friends for life.

Join plenty of societies, mingle with people on your course and don’t forget about the people you live with.

uni

3. The step up.

Going from high school to college is meant to be a ‘huge jump’ in terms of work load and what they expect from you. But personally,  didn’t feel it. This time however – ohmylife, it is completely different.

Firstly, referencing- like what is up with that! I still haven’t got to grips with it but I’ve been assured one day it will just ‘click’. The writing style is different as well. Studying theatre, there are so many essays involved, and I expected myself to be prepared since all my A-levels consisted of were essays, but it’s definitely different.

Secondly, the marks are totally weird too. At A-levels 60% was a C, now 60% is a 2:1 which is pretty amazing to get now.

Don’t panic. Learn bit by bit what they expect from you. Try to enjoy what you’re writing about and learning new things.

6b0057d5-220b-4c83-8773-611fe06285a9.jpg

4. Work.

I jumped straight in at the deep end when I moved theory Bristol. I moved in on a Saturday and started a 20 hour contract the following Monday.  I loved my job and the people I worked with have been the best people I’ve met since moving, so many fun times have been had. However, it was definitely distracting from studies and prevented me from doing the societies I wanted to do. Money is great and for me, I can’t go without a job, but realistically 12 hours is the recommended on top of a degree programme.

I wouldn’t say don’t work,  a lot of people do and others say  “it distracts from the uni experience” – bull. It adds to your life, mixing things up in terms of the people you’re with and what you do, just be realistic with how much time you want to devout to a job.

5. Make the most of it.

This is the most important one.

You will miss home. You will find it scary and tough and you will consider dropping out, what you’re doing with your life etc. But roll with it. At the end of the day, it’s a learning experience. It isn’t for everyone, but if you want it enough you can make it manage. 

Get off campus and go and explore the city and what it has to offer too! Make sure you visit home so you don’t miss your family too much.

zoo2

 

Make memories, make friends, get involved with everything offered to you.


Hope some of you find this an interesting little insight into my time Bristol living.
Peace out for now, I’ll try not to leave it so long next time.

Paige xo

Leave a comment