fashion, Personal

Hello, Cruelty free Makeup.

Good morning all! Today I wanted to give my recommendations on my favourite cruelty free makeup. Most of these are affordable and the fact that no bunnies were harmed in the making is even better! Here we go…

Foundation: Barry M Flawless Matte Foundation.

I only recently made the switch to this brand but, like the name, it really is Flawless! The coverage is 100%, it smells amazing and is only £6.99. I use shade Porcelain because of my light skin tone and darken it with a bronzer – it’s always better to go for a lighter shade if you’re unsure. It isn’t the lightest feeling foundation, but it lasts all day for me so I cannot complain.

Contour: I used the seventeen 2 in 1 palette for a year or so but decided to switch to MUA, only recently. The highlighter “Undress youth skin“, i use is glittery and illuminating, which I love and the bronzer “Whipped Velvet Bronze” is in a beautiful shade. Only £3 each, for such big products so they will last for a long time!

I also need to mention these cute eyeshadows from Lush Oxford Street, which I use as a highlighter.  They’re almost pure glitter and perfect for a night out! The shade Dream makes a perfect highlighter. (Also a beautiful eyeshadow) £10.

I have also discovered this illuminating Ultra strobe pallette from Revolution and I was so taken away by how beautiful it was I had to have it! The colours literally look like they glow, and you just wipe it on to the cheek as it comes in a cream format. There are tones for colour correction, highlight, blush and bronzer and this pallette is only £6, making it a must have! 

Mascara: Barry M: Show Girl (volumising) 

This is my favourite mascara. It comes in both waterproof and normal branding and there is also a lengthening strain rather than volumising, but due to my sparse eyelashes the volumising one works wonders! I love the curvaceous brush type on this too as each lash is visibly lengthened. Only £4.99.

I’d like to give a shout out to Lush Cosmetics Eye’s Right mascara too,  which gives a lovely natural look and has a light feel, if that’s what you prefer. It has a really fresh scent as it contains wheatgrass making it perfect for sensitive eyes. Only £12.

Eyeliner: Soap and Glory: Super Cat

 I am completely in love with the Soap and Glory Supercat, Carbon black extreme eyeliner. This generally lasts a month-6 weeks, the stiffness of the nib not so much, but I’ve found it still lasts longer than I’ve found prior. It draws on easily and with precision and since i don’t wear it so thick anymore the tip is perfect, however it does come in a skinnier and a thicker version for only a little more. RRP £6.

I also wanted to mention the Lush eyeliners. Although soap and glory is my favourite, I have used their colourful eyeliners before and you can’t fault them! The range of colours are amazing, and they last for so long. They are however  £14.50, and totally worth every penny. 

Eyeshadow: I have many different eyeshadow pallets I could mention now but I’m going to stick with my two favourite. Firstly, Soap and Glory Ltd.  Edition ‘The Perfect 10’ pallette.  This is perfect for everyday looks and includes glittery and Matte finish eyeshadows. It’s only £10 and lasts all day. The coloura include rosey pinks oranges and browns, and a couple of darker perfect for a smokey eye. My only fault with this product is the brush that comes with isn’t ideal, but you can easily use another brush. 

My biggest shout out is to the Urban Decay Vice Limited Reloaded pallette. Featuring 20 colourful, glittery eyeshadows the number of looks you can create is endless. It has the nicest finish and longevity I’ve seen and the box and case is gorgeous. RRP £43

Lipstick: I have so many to mention here!

Lime crime Velvetines are my biggest love. They go on flawlessly and have super soft brushes. These go on as a liquid and dry matt to give a really sophisticated look. These are quite expensive and only ship from America at the minute so good alternatives for liquid lipsticks are Bodyshop and Nyx.

Soap and Glory: All of soap and Glory’s lip products are Flawless but my favourite are the two pictured. The chubby sticks give a plummeting effect and come in a range of shades, they’re easy to apply and great at lining the lips too. The sexy mother-pucker nude range is gorgeous too. I don’t usually wear glossy lipsticks but these are so conditioning and moisturising, they’re wonderful. 

Again, if you’re looking for brighter colours the Lush range is Flawless.  The lipsticks last for ages and the colour is beautiful on.

Lastly I thought I’d stray from makeup and give a quick shout out to some beauty essentials.

You should always moisturise before applying makeup and Enzymion from Lush gives an even matt surface to apply to and no helps combat oils on the skin to ensure the makeup stays on longer.

In contrast, when it comes to taking off the makeup I find wiping it off with a makeup wipe and then cleansing with this Peaches and Clean face wash from soap and Glory offers such a deep cleanse. It smells heavenly, like Peaches and cream with a hint of mint to give a tingling sensation.

Shout out to The Body shop Camomile makeup remover also for being fab. My one downfall with this was that I had to use quite a lot at a time  (and I don’t wear a lot of makeup) meaning it was expensive in the long run.

Finally, nail varnishes! Whilst I’m now jobless and away from catering I can finally do my own nails! These Barry’M gel polishes stuck true to their claims, and can last for up to two weeks. Simply apply a clear Base coat, a coat of the chosen colour, and then a top coat.

Leave a comment