Society

Change, Hello.

^ Aren’t we a witty couple. The featured photo was from January 4th 2015, the ones in the post start in 2014!

 

(L) This post is about change. Not the annoying pennies gathering fluff in your trouser pocket, but change, the scariest thing imbued with so much ambiguity and wonder that it almost becomes exciting.

The reason we are discussing change is because it is ultimately inevitable; the world would not work without change. Things would be so mundane and monotonous that we would go mad and this concept is something too strange and abstract to conceptualize.

Yet we as a human race are addicted to it. We are obsessed that ‘time flies by and how things change’. We are obsessed with new things for dinner, making sure we’re wearing a change of underwear tomorrow, changing lanes while we’re driving, the changes in the weather, whether we’ll change in 10 years time. This list goes on. But why is this all applicable?

Myself and Paigey are both at an age in which so many things begin to change it almost becomes a little overwhelming. For instance, we have both been offered spots in the unis that we wanna go to. Thankfully, this is in the same city, but it’s a change of city. It’s a change of education and a change of many many things. We’ve booked in to view our potential new accommodation in February. There is a lot of change, and yes, it is madly scary, but the prospect of starting afresh with new scenery and new knowledge is the most astonishing and exciting prospect conceivable.

One thing that worries me the most is the transition between normality and abnormality. Now, I consider myself to be an independent person for the majority, but I don’t think anyone prepares you for the life after living your parents. I offer you my analogy of the Musician. Anyone can spend their life being given the answers, in this case the history of music, musicians and theory, and you can prepare yourself as much as you can, but when you’re told you’re playing on that stage in a weeks time, you forget it all and are as useful as a solar panel in a darkroom. Knowledge is not wisdom. Knowing things is not the same as doing things. You could know everything about the physics of a bow and arrow, but I guarantee you 9 out of 10 people will end up shooting the instructor and falling into a lawsuit, but I digress. I know how to cook and clean and iron and manage money, but when these things need to be applied in the real world with no margin for error, it all seems so unusual and difficult, something I personally don’t believe anyone can prepare you for.

(P) I believe that education does not prepare us fully for the adult life and perhaps they should offer a life skills class in schools, much like on the TV show Waterloo Road. No one cared for PSHE, where you had the same lessons on bullying, sex ed and drugs every single year on a Wednesday afternoon. Where are the lessons on taxes or how to open a bank account or the best way to deal with bills? Doing Economics, I’m lucky as I find myself knowledgeable on these topics and with a decent amount of common sense to find the best possible ways to deal with them. However, it is undoubted that we are not set up properly for the adulthood that falls upon us.

But hey,  that’s not necessarily a bad thing; I’m excited to stumble into the issues of not having enough money to pay the rent, or sticking a red sock into a white wash, or finding out I shouldn’t have tumble dried my jeans and now they’re a size 4, mainly because of having this one, to experience this all with, but this is just life. Sadly, we have to simply roll with this! I’m talking about this in a positive way, and I know I’ll be a stressy mess when this happens and Luke will probably want to bash me round the head with a gnome or whatnot but it’s all just part of growing up.

All in all, change should be embraced. Change is exciting and exhilarating and a pain in the bum, yet inevitable. It’s only human to be afraid of what we don’t know, however that doesn’t mean we should fall into a big black hole of despair over these changes.

(L)  Having a double conclusion, what a change. *bahdumtsh*

So yeah, change is inevitable, but instead of shying away from the ambiguity of the unknown, I think it’s fair to say the best approach is to caress the future with open arms and take it in as if it were family. If we try to embrace the sense of unknowing with a little optimism and self-worth, I think we’ll make for a much more inspired and resilient group of change-friendly humans inhabiting this little rock of space-exploring wonder.

Funny thing is, I wouldn’t change a thing.

L&P xo

2 thoughts on “Change, Hello.”

  1. It’s daunting and it will definitely be challenging, but college is some of the best years of your life. It’s the perfect balance between independence and the full, unrelenting drudgery of adulthood. Soak it up, laugh at your mistakes (just make sure to learn from them too). You’ll figure it out. Good luck!

    Like

    1. (L) Agreed! I think the one thing too many people seem to not consider the idea of not growing up! College time has been a blast for me and I’ve loved it all, and I don’t wanna let go of the feeling of youth and endless prosperity, which I feel too many people learn to accept has gone. People should hold on to the excitement they hold as kids and not let the big bad wolf blow down the funhouse!
      (P) We know exciting times are coming and it’s such an amazing feeling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment